Certificate of Cable Franchise Authority⁸

Since 2006, the Secretary of State's Office has been the franchise authority for cable franchises in the state of South Carolina. Previously, cable franchises were issued by municipalities and counties. Under current law, cable companies only apply to the Secretary of State for a statewide certificate of cable franchise authority.

A person or entity seeking to provide cable or video service in South Carolina must file an application for a state-issued certificate of franchise authority with the Secretary of State. The filing fee for the application is \$110.00.

Within five days of receipt of an application or an amended application for a certificate of cable franchise authority, the Secretary of State notifies affected municipalities and/or counties of the application. The Secretary of State also requests the following from the municipalities and/or counties: (a) franchise fee rate; (b) number of access channels under the franchise agreement; and (c) whether the municipalities and/or counties consent to the state-issued certificate of franchise authority sought in the application.

If a municipality or county does not consent or does not respond within 65 days of the Secretary of State's request, the Secretary of State denies the application and notes the reason for the denial. Within 80 days from the Secretary of State's request to the affected municipalities and/or counties, the Secretary of State issues a certificate of franchise authority to the applicant.

A cable services provider may terminate its certificate of franchise authority issued by the Secretary of State by submitting written notice to the Secretary of State and affected municipalities and counties.

The Secretary of State keeps a public record of certificates applied for and posts on the agency's website information relating to any certificate of franchise authority issued.



		F SOUTH CAROLINA RETARY OF STATE
	CERTIFICATE OF FRANCHISE	MINATION OF STATE-ISSUED AUTHORITY OR AMENDED STATE-ISSUED OF FRANCHISE AUTHORITY
- 1	anchise authority, either an existing certi- piration of that certificate issued by a local	ting to provide cable or video service must have a certificate of ficate issued by a local government under prior law, or upon al government, a state-issued certificate of franchise authority state under S.C. Code of Laws \$58-12-10(B).
IYPI	OR PRINT CLEARLY WITH BLACK INK	
		the 1976 South Carolina Code of Laws, as amended, the immination of its State-issued Certificate of Franchise te of Franchise Authority.
1.	Cable or video service provider hold	ing certificate:
2.	Date of issue of certificate	
3.	Copies of this notice shall be submit	ted to the affected municipalities and/or counties.
3. Date		ted to the affected municipalities and/or counties. Hame of Cable or Video Service Provider
a		
a		Name of Cable or Video Senice Provider
a		Name of Cable or Video Service Provider Signature
2		Name of Cable or Video Service Provider Signature Tippe or Front Name and Office
2		Name of Cable or Video Service Provider Signature Type or Print Name and Office Address

https://www.scstatehouse.gov/CommitteeInfo/HouseLegislativeOversightCommittee/AgencyWebpages/SecretaryofState/Municipalities%20presentation%20by%20SoS%20-%20PowerPoint.pdf (accessed January 21, 2020), slide 37-41, and 45. Hereinafter "Municipalities Presentation."

⁸ S.C. House of Representatives, House Legislative Oversight Committee, "Agency Presentation – Municipalities (December 9, 2019)," under "Committee Postings and Reports," under "House Legislative Oversight Committee," under "Secretary of State, Office of the," and under "Meetings,"